Press Release, For Immediate Release Woodbury Democratic Town Committee July 25, 2017

Experienced Board and Commission members nominated by Woodbury Democrats for Municipal Election on November 7, 2017

Woodbury Democrats nominated experienced Board and Commission members for the municipal election to be held on November 7, 2017 at the Democratic Caucus held on Tuesday, July 25, 2017.

Nominated for the Board of Selectmen is: George W. Hale III, a well-known local businessman with a wide range of experience in town government. Mr. Hale's experience includes terms on the Board of Selectmen, the Planning Commission, and the Library Board of Trustees. His accomplishments include chairmanship of the first Economic Development Committee, under which the Antiques Trail was established. George treats everyone respectfully, and is a good listener, skills which he will bring to the Board of Selectmen.

Nominated for the Board of Finance is the current chair, Alex DeSorbo. As chairman, Mr. DeSorbo has helped lead Woodbury through a difficult revaluation, a critical bonding endeavor, and maintenance of a level tax rate for four years. Alex has effectively led the BOF to work cooperatively as a board and with the Board of Selectmen in the best interests of Woodbury.

Nominated for the Inland Wetlands Agency are two diligent incumbents, Mary Tyrrell and Don Richards, Alternate. Ms. Tyrrell is the current chair of IWA, and her expertise and leadership are respected by IWA members and the public. Mr. Richards is an experienced, long-serving, and dedicated alternate member of the IWA.

Nominated for the Zoning Commission is Robert Clarke, a long-serving member and the current chair of the Commission. Mr. Clarke has fostered a sense of order and cooperation on the Zoning Commission. He also serves on the Business and Economic Development Adhoc Committee.

For Planning Commission Alternate, Ruth Melchiori is nominated for re-election. Ms. Melchiori is completing her first term with a 100% attendance record, which all Board and Commission members should aspire to achieve.

For Board of Assessment Appeals, Richard Snider is nominated. Mr. Snider currently serves as an Alternate member of BofAA, and also serves as a member of the Retirement and Pension Board.

For Zoning Board of Appeals, Adam Goldberg is nominated. Mr. Goldberg currently serves as an Alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals, and brings experience and a willingness to cooperate to the board.

For additional information, please contact Lesa Peters, DTC Chair and/or Bill Monti, Nominating Committee Chair.